The Nebraska Grocery Industry Association’s Annual Legislative Dinner was held on January 23 at the Cornhusker Marriott Hotel in Lincoln.

Cubby’s Convenience Stores President De Lone Wilson, Chairman of the NGIA Board, served as moderator for the evening, welcoming guests including Governor Pete Ricketts and nearly thirty state senators from across the state.

Representatives from the industry were presented were numerous awards, including Lifetime Achievement Awards to several NGIA members. Jeff Holling was awarded the Distinguished Service Award, Bryan Gilliland was named the Vendor of the Year, and Governor Pete Ricketts was named the recipient of the 2020 Spirit of America Award for his legislative efforts and for being a friend to the food industry.

The annual event included a reception with a silent and live auction, dinner and brief program. Proceeds from the auction go to the Cubby’s NGIA Scholarship Program.

The evening concluded on a festive note with a Q & A with several former UNL athletes, who posed for pictures with attendees and threw autographed footballs into the crowd.

We look forward to this event every year as an opportunity to celebrate with grocery store owners, wholesalers and vendors from across the Midwest. De Lone has been honored to serve as Chairman of the NGIA Board.